Home » System Center Operations Manager 2007 » Alert Level and Alert Severity


Welcome to contoso.se! My name is Anders Bengtsson and this is my blog about Azure infrastructure and system management. I am a senior engineer in the FastTrack for Azure team, part of Azure Engineering, at Microsoft.  Contoso.se has two main purposes, first as a platform to share information with the community and the second as a notebook for myself.

Everything you read here is my own personal opinion and any code is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties.

Anders Bengtsson

MVP awarded 2007,2008,2009,2010

My Books
Service Manager Unleashed
Service Manager Unleashed
Orchestrator Unleashed
Orchestrator 2012 Unleashed
Inside the Microsoft Operations Management Suite

Alert Level and Alert Severity

In MOM 2005 we had seven (10,20,30,40,50,60,70) alert severities. In Ops Mgr 2007 we only have three, critical, information and warning. If you convert a management pack or download a converted management pack you can see in the XML code that for example a rule is genering an alert with AlertLevel 50. If you want to create new views and notification subscriptions for that alert you need to know how alert level is translated to alert severity in Ops Mgr 2007. I did a test with a rule from a converted Biz Talk management pack. I trigged the same rule, but between each test I changed alert level.

Alert Level 70  Critical Alert Severity
Alert Level 60  Critical Alert Severity
Alert Level 50  Critical Alert Severity
Alert Level 40  Critical Alert Severity

Alert Level 30  Warning Alert Severity

Alert Level 20  Information Alert Severity
Alert Level 10  Information Alert Severity

All alert had low priority.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.